Executive Team

David K. Mason

Chief Executive Officer
(703) 658-1634

dkmason@universaltitle.com

About

David K. Mason started his career in the title insurance industry in 2006, and officially took over as Universal Title’s Chief Executive Officer in 2012. Under his and his sister Jennifer’s leadership, Universal Title’s family of companies now consists of over 100 employees across more than 27 locations and six states.

 

Under his leadership, Universal Title has continued to be an organization where talented individuals in the title industry come to exceed what they previously thought they were personally and professionally capable of achieving.  He counts as one of UT’s greatest achievements the personal and professional success so many members of the team have realized.  The leadership journey involved in helping others succeed is both the most challenging and rewarding part of his role as CEO and is what motivates him daily to continue to build the organization.

 

The vision David has for the future of Universal Title is that it remains an innovator in the title industry, especially around the consumer experience.  He believes that the settlement experiences the modern homebuyer deserves includes the use of technology to make the process seamless, and a type of hospitality to make the closing personal and celebratory.  It is through this vision that Universal Title will continue to move forward.

 

David is a native of the Washington, D.C. area, growing up and now living with his wife Christine and two children in Alexandria.  His other job is a youth hockey coach, and in any remaining free time he enjoys playing golf and skiing.

 

David is a graduate of Duke University where he majored in Economics and was a four-year letterman and captain of the baseball team. He earned his J.D. from The University of Virginia School of Law and is admitted to the Virginia State Bar and District of Columbia Bar.

Jennifer Mason Halsted

President
(703) 738-1420

jmason@universaltitle.com

About
Jennifer Mason Halsted was admitted to the Virginia State Bar in 2001. She is also admitted in the District of Columbia Bar. She received an A.B. in Economics and Political Science from Duke University in 1998, and her law degree in 2001 from University of Virginia School of Law. Prior to joining The Mason Law Firm, PLC, she worked for Hogan & Hartson, L.L.P. in Washington D.C. Mrs. Halsted’s areas of practice include residential real estate transactions, corporate transactions and general business matters. Mrs. Halsted’s current responsibilities include representing Universal Title’s clients who specialize in investments and hard-money lending.

Teresa Darnell

Executive Director of Business Development & Sales
(571) 271-6284

tdarnell@universaltitle.com

About

After taking a hiatus from a career in sales/client development to raise her two daughters, Teresa came back full force and joined Universal Title as a settlement agent and was instrumental in the growth of the Arlington and Tysons offices. As the company grew, so did Teresa’s desire for growth. She began adding members to the business development team and rose through the ranks of Universal Title to become the Executive Director of Business Development & Sales. Teresa is passionate about the growth and development of the Business Development team and Universal Title.

Samantha La Mell, J.D.

Regional Director, Maryland
(443) 219-0305

slamell@universaltitle.com

About
Samantha La Mell joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in 2012. She received a B.A. in Law and Society and graduated cum laude from American University in 2001. Mrs. La Mell received her law degree with a concentration in Real Estate from the University of Baltimore School of Law in 2011, where she graduated magna cum laude. Mrs. La Mell is admitted to the Maryland State Bar (2011).

David V. Mason

Founder and Chairman

 

About
David V. Mason is the founder of Universal Title. He was admitted to the Virginia Bar in 1973. He received his B. S. in Mechanical Engineering from Pennsylvania State University in 1968, and his law degree from George Washington University in 1973. He is a member of the Virginia State Bar and the Fairfax County Bar Association. Mr. Mason’s areas of specialty include residential real estate transactions, corporate and general business matters and transactions, and automation of real estate settlement procedures.

Carrie Mock, J.D.

Regional Director, Virginia
(703) 468-0350

cmock@universaltitle.com

About
Carrie L. Mock joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in their Fairfax and Kingstowne offices in 2012. She received a B.S. in Systems Engineering with a concentration in Finance from the University of Virginia in 1988, and her law degree from George Mason University School of Law in 1995. Ms. Mock is admitted to the Virginia State Bar (1995).

Bhavin Patel, J.D.

Director of Title Department and Commercial
(703) 468-1583

bpatel@universaltitle.com

Our People

Our Family

Universal Title is proud of the personal level of service we give our clients and customers.

Office Managers

Karly Cahill, J.D.

Virginia Beach Office
(757) 271-6014

kcahill@universaltitle.com

 

 

Joe Bruno, J.D.

Bethesda/Rockville Office
(707) 344-0546

jbruno@universaltitle.com

 

Sarah Tozer, J.D.

McLean/Fairfax Office
(703) 468-0370

stozer@universaltitle.com

Pamela Godfrey

Stafford Office
(703) 468-1201

pgodfrey@universaltitle.com

Katie Griffin, J.D.

DC/Bethesda Office
(202) 301-3942

kgriffin@universaltitle.com

Adam Herschthal, J.D.

Annapolis Office
(301) 358-1712

adam@universaltitle.com

Lorn Hinish, J.D.

Upper Marlboro
(301) 358-1710

lhinish@universaltitle.com

Amin Khakpouri, J.D.

Ellicott City Office
(443) 219-0445

amin@universaltitle.com

 Gia Vakoutis, J.D.

White Marsh
(410) 401-0343

gia@universaltitle.com

John Mclaurin, J.D.

Fredericksburg Office
(540) 228-1430

jmclaurin@universaltitle.com

Patrick Meighan, J.D.

Towson and Owings Mills Offices
(443) 327-3765

pmeighan@universaltitle.com

Aaron Minguez, J.D.

Chesapeake Office
757-656-5025

aminguez@universaltitle.com

 

Stephanie Norfolk, J.D.

Title Supervisor
(443) 219-0486

snorfolk@universaltitle.com

Kelly Satterwhite, J.D.

Old Town and Tyson’s Corner Office
(703) 468-1571

ksatterwhite@universaltitle.com

David Robertson, J.D.

Falls Church Office
(703) 665-0477

drobertson@universaltitle.com

Emily Gordon, J.D.

Arlington Office
(703) 468-0330

egordon@universaltitle.com

 

 

Kaylesh R. Bolla, J.D.

Baltimore Office
(443) 451-5392

kbolla@universaltitle.com

 

 

 

 

Business Development

Beth Aiken

Director of Business Development & Sales, Old Town
(571) 217-0417

baiken@universaltitle.com

Claire Banta

Director of Business Development & Sales, DC
(703) 408-2312

cbanta@universaltitle.com

Tim Swinburn

Director of Business Development & Sales, Towson
(610) 209-8336

tswinburn@universaltitle.com

Shannon Catlett

Director of Business Development & Sales, Kingstowne
(703) 278-2289 

shannon@universaltitle.com

Heidi Copeland

Director of Business Development & Sales, Fairfax
(703) 915-7344

%5nC

hcopeland@universaltitle.com

Dennis Young

Director of Business Development & Sales, White Marsh
(410) 499-1076

dyoung@universaltitle.com

Ken Grogan

Director of Business Development & Sales, Stafford and Fredericksburg
(540) 455-2283

kgrogan@universaltitle.com

Joey Vandaniker

Director of Business Development & Sales, Annapolis and Southern MD
(443) 452-9797

jvandaniker@universaltitle.com

Nichole Jenkins

Director of Business Development & Sales, McLean
(571) 294-4141

njenkins@universaltitle.com

Oriana Victor

Director of Business Development & Sales, Tyson’s Corner, Arlington and Old Town
(703) 659-1293

ovictor@universaltitle.com

Chris Hawkins

Director of Business Development & Sales, Baltimore
(443) 538-8246

chawkins@universaltitle.com

 

 

Amy Grant 

Director of Business Development & Sales
(703)-409-4292

amy@universaltitle.com

 

 

Erika M. Madden

Director of Business Development & Sales, Howard County
(301) 801-4762

emadden@universaltitle.com

Emma Melvin

Director of Business Development & Sales, Arlington
(703) 501-1007

emelvin@universaltitle.com

 

 

Contact Us

Please feel free to send us any questions you may have.

info@universaltitle.com
108 N. Columbus Street, 2nd Floor
Alexandria, Virginia 22314

(877) 645-8319

Get a Quote