Our People

Our Family

Universal Title is proud of the personal level of service we give our clients and customers.

Executive Team

David K. Mason

Chief Executive Officer
(703) 658-1634

dkmason@universaltitle.com

About

David K. Mason started in the title business in 2006, and officially took over as Universal Title’s Chief Executive Officer in 2012. Today he leads a team that consists of over 85 individuals across more than 20 locations, and consistently ranks in the top 3 Title Companies in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Area by the Washington Business Journal. Universal Title has also been nationally recognized by First American Title Insurance Company as one of its top agents. In 2020 David helped launch BKCO Title and Escrow, a sister company of Universal Title, that currently operates in Washington State.

As a native of the Washington, D.C. area, David gets great joy from being able to assist so many people in the community realize the dream of homeownership. Having gotten his start during a period in our history when so many families lost their homes, those formative years continue to influence the direction of Universal Title. As the real estate transaction has increasingly become more complicated and burdensome, his mission has been one of making the settlement process easier, more transparent, more efficient, and more enjoyable for all the parties involved.
David’s vision for Universal Title is that it continues to be an organization where individuals exceed what they previously thought they were personally and professionally capable of achieving.

David is a graduate of Duke University where he majored in Economics and was a four-year letterman and captain of the baseball team. He earned his J.D. from The University of Virginia School of Law and is admitted to the Virginia State Bar and District of Columbia Bar.

Jennifer Mason Halsted

President
(703) 738-1420

jmason@universaltitle.com

About
Jennifer Mason Halsted was admitted to the Virginia State Bar in 2001. She is also admitted in the District of Columbia Bar. She received an A.B. in Economics and Political Science from Duke University in 1998, and her law degree in 2001 from University of Virginia School of Law. Prior to joining The Mason Law Firm, PLC, she worked for Hogan & Hartson, L.L.P. in Washington D.C. Mrs. Halsted’s areas of practice include residential real estate transactions, corporate transactions and general business matters. Mrs. Halsted’s current responsibilities include representing Universal Title’s clients who specialize in investments and hard-money lending.

Teresa Darnell

Executive Director of Sales
(571) 271-6284

tdarnell@universaltitle.com

About

After taking a hiatus from a career in sales/client development to raise her two daughters, Teresa came back full force and joined Universal Title as a settlement agent and was instrumental in the growth of the Arlington and Tysons offices. As the company grew, so did Teresa’s desire for growth. She began adding members to the business development team and rose through the ranks of Universal Title to become the Executive Director of Business Development & Sales. Teresa is passionate about the growth and development of the Business Development team and Universal Title.

Samantha La Mell

Regional Director, Maryland
(443) 219-0305

slamell@universaltitle.com

About
Samantha La Mell joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in 2012. She received a B.A. in Law and Society and graduated cum laude from American University in 2001. Mrs. La Mell received her law degree with a concentration in Real Estate from the University of Baltimore School of Law in 2011, where she graduated magna cum laude. Mrs. La Mell is admitted to the Maryland State Bar (2011).

David V. Mason

Founder and Chairman

dvmason@universaltitle.com

About
David V. Mason is the founder of Universal Title. He was admitted to the Virginia Bar in 1973. He received his B. S. in Mechanical Engineering from Pennsylvania State University in 1968, and his law degree from George Washington University in 1973. He is a member of the Virginia State Bar and the Fairfax County Bar Association. Mr. Mason’s areas of specialty include residential real estate transactions, corporate and general business matters and transactions, and automation of real estate settlement procedures.

Carrie Mock

Regional Director, Virginia
(703) 468-0350

cmock@universaltitle.com

About
Carrie L. Mock joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in their Fairfax and Kingstowne offices in 2012. She received a B.S. in Systems Engineering with a concentration in Finance from the University of Virginia in 1988, and her law degree from George Mason University School of Law in 1995. Ms. Mock is admitted to the Virginia State Bar (1995).

David Stamm

Regional Director, D.C.
(202) 903-0885

dstamm@universaltitle.com

About

David joined the Universal Title team in 2019. He serves as the Company’s Regional Director for Washington, DC and Managing Attorney for the Capitol Hill Office, and he also serves as a member of the Company’s Executive Team. As an attorney that has focused primarily on real estate matters since the start of his legal career, David prides himself on providing practical and deal-oriented advice in helping his clients achieve their transactional goals. As a title professional serving the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia, David’s goal is to help create a positive and memorable experience for clients as they work through the transaction process.

Over the years, David’s clients have included buyers and sellers of property, landlords and tenants, mortgage lenders, banks, credit unions, builders, developers, property managers, real estate agents, real estate brokers, supervising brokers, brokers of record, insurance companies, relocation professionals, title and escrow companies, and other real estate related professionals. From transactional matters to litigation avoidance and RESPA compliance to professional liability, David’s goal is to provide practical and situational oriented advice that helps clients achieve their goals.

Prior to joining Universal Title, David served as General Counsel for a large Washington, DC Metro Area based real estate services company and was the Company’s Director of Title Operations and President of the company’s settlement and title subsidiary. In these roles, David provided advice and counsel to a wide variety of real estate stakeholders across the Washington, DC Metro Area. Before serving in an in-house corporate counsel and business officer role, David worked in the private practice law firm setting handling a wide variety of real estate matters across a diverse area in both a small law firm and large law firm settings. David first gained exposure to real estate law in operation while serving as the Law Clerk for the Honorable Steven Chappelle in the Circuit Court for Charles County, Maryland during the aftermath of a recession where foreclosure and other distressed property scenarios became court matters at an alarmingly frenetic rate. David earned his juris doctor degree from the University of Maryland School of Law, and is a graduate of St. Mary’s College of Maryland where he majored in History (with a minor in Democracy Studies).

David lives with his wife and daughter in Washington, DC. David is an avid sports fan and spends as much time as possible supporting his favorite area sports teams, primarily the Washington Capitals, DC United, and the Washington Nationals. David is a native of Southern Maryland, and enjoys spending as much time as possible in St. Mary’s County, where he grew up. David and his family like to get outside, and David is passionate about enjoying and preserving the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

Settlement Attorneys

Sarah Anderson

Managing Attorney, Arlington
(703) 468-0330

sanderson@universaltitle.com

Joe Bruno

Managing Attorney, Tysons Corner
(707) 344-0546

jbruno@universaltitle.com

Steven Furst

Managing Attorney, Baltimore
(443) 219-0411

sfurst@universaltitle.com

Shanna Glatz

Managing Attorney, Fairfax
(703) 468-1391

sglatz@universaltitle.com

Pamela Godfrey

Manager, Stafford
(703) 468-1201

pgodfrey@universaltitle.com

Adam Herschthal

Managing Attorney, Annapolis
(301) 358-1712

adam@universaltitle.com

Lorn Hinish

Managing Attorney, Rockville
(301) 358-1710

lhinish@universaltitle.com

Amin Khakpouri

Managing Attorney, Howard County
(443) 219-0625

amin@universaltitle.com

Jordan Kozik

Corporate Title Attorney
(703) 468-1593

jkozik@universaltitle.com

John Mclaurin

Managing Attorney, Fredericksburg
(540) 228-1430

jmclaurin@universaltitle.com

Patrick Meighan

Managing Attorney, Pikesville
(443) 327-3765

pmeighan@universaltitle.com

Lesley Morrissey

Corporate Title Attorney
(443) 219-0651

lmorrissey@universaltitle.com

Bhavin Patel

Settlement Attorney, Falls Church
(703) 468-1583

bpatel@universaltitle.com

Gemar Patterson

Managing Attorney, Upper Marlboro
(240) 345-9393

gpatterson@universaltitle.com

David Robertson

Managing Attorney, Falls Church
(703) 665-0477

drobertson@universaltitle.com

Kelly Satterwhite

Managing Attorney, Old Town
(703) 468-1571

ksatterwhite@universaltitle.com

Jason M. Setty

Managing Attorney, White Marsh
(410) 401-0343

jsetty@universaltitle.com

Sarah Tozer

Managing Attorney, McLean
(703) 468-0370

stozer@universaltitle.com

Business Development

Heidi Copeland

Director of Business Development & Sales, Fairfax
(703) 915-7344

hcopeland@universaltitle.com

Stephanie Granlund

Director of Business Development & Sales, McLean & Reston
(202) 374-3590

stephanie@universaltitle.com

Erika M. Madden

Director of Business Development and Sales, Howard County
(301) 801-4762

emadden@universaltitle.com

Andrew Shank

Director of Business Development & Sales, Falls Church
(484) 995-7420

andrew@universaltitle.com

Sherrie Shaw

Director of Business Development & Sales, Fredericksburg
(540) 226-0769

sherrie@universaltitle.com

Nikki Sullivan

Sales & Marketing, Arlington & Old Town
(508) 935-9806

nsullivan@universaltitle.com

Tim Swinburn

Director of Business Development and Sales, Pikesville 
(610) 209-8336

tswinburn@universaltitle.com

Joey Vandaniker

Director of Business Development & Sales, Annapolis and Southern MD
(443) 452-9797

jvandaniker@universaltitle.com

We Look Forward To Serving You

 


 

info@universaltitle.com
6862 Elm Street, Suite 740
McLean, Virginia 22101
(877) 645-8319