Our People

Our Family

Universal Title is proud of the personal level of service we give our clients and customers.

Executive Team

David K. Mason

Chief Executive Officer
(703) 658-1634

dkmason@universaltitle.com

About

David K. Mason started in the title business in 2006, and officially took over as Universal Title’s Chief Executive Officer in 2012. Today he leads a team that consists of over 85 individuals across more than 20 locations, and consistently ranks in the top 3 Title Companies in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Area by the Washington Business Journal. Universal Title has also been nationally recognized by First American Title Insurance Company as one of its top agents. In 2020 David helped launch BKCO Title and Escrow, a sister company of Universal Title, that currently operates in Washington State.

As a native of the Washington, D.C. area, David gets great joy from being able to assist so many people in the community realize the dream of homeownership. Having gotten his start during a period in our history when so many families lost their homes, those formative years continue to influence the direction of Universal Title. As the real estate transaction has increasingly become more complicated and burdensome, his mission has been one of making the settlement process easier, more transparent, more efficient, and more enjoyable for all the parties involved.
David’s vision for Universal Title is that it continues to be an organization where individuals exceed what they previously thought they were personally and professionally capable of achieving.

David is a graduate of Duke University where he majored in Economics and was a four-year letterman and captain of the baseball team. He earned his J.D. from The University of Virginia School of Law and is admitted to the Virginia State Bar and District of Columbia Bar.

Jennifer Mason Halsted

President
(703) 738-1420

jmason@universaltitle.com

About
Jennifer Mason Halsted was admitted to the Virginia State Bar in 2001. She is also admitted in the District of Columbia Bar. She received an A.B. in Economics and Political Science from Duke University in 1998, and her law degree in 2001 from University of Virginia School of Law. Prior to joining The Mason Law Firm, PLC, she worked for Hogan & Hartson, L.L.P. in Washington D.C. Mrs. Halsted’s areas of practice include residential real estate transactions, corporate transactions and general business matters. Mrs. Halsted’s current responsibilities include representing Universal Title’s clients who specialize in investments and hard-money lending.

Teresa Darnell

Executive Director of Business Development & Sales
(571) 271-6284

tdarnell@universaltitle.com

About

After taking a hiatus from a career in sales/client development to raise her two daughters, Teresa came back full force and joined Universal Title as a settlement agent and was instrumental in the growth of the Arlington and Tysons offices. As the company grew, so did Teresa’s desire for growth. She began adding members to the business development team and rose through the ranks of Universal Title to become the Executive Director of Business Development & Sales. Teresa is passionate about the growth and development of the Business Development team and Universal Title.

Samantha La Mell, J.D.

Regional Director, Maryland
(443) 219-0305

slamell@universaltitle.com

About
Samantha La Mell joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in 2012. She received a B.A. in Law and Society and graduated cum laude from American University in 2001. Mrs. La Mell received her law degree with a concentration in Real Estate from the University of Baltimore School of Law in 2011, where she graduated magna cum laude. Mrs. La Mell is admitted to the Maryland State Bar (2011).

David V. Mason

Founder and Chairman

 

About
David V. Mason is the founder of Universal Title. He was admitted to the Virginia Bar in 1973. He received his B. S. in Mechanical Engineering from Pennsylvania State University in 1968, and his law degree from George Washington University in 1973. He is a member of the Virginia State Bar and the Fairfax County Bar Association. Mr. Mason’s areas of specialty include residential real estate transactions, corporate and general business matters and transactions, and automation of real estate settlement procedures.

Carrie Mock, J.D.

Regional Director, Virginia
(703) 468-0350

cmock@universaltitle.com

About
Carrie L. Mock joined Universal Title and The Mason Law Firm, PLC in their Fairfax and Kingstowne offices in 2012. She received a B.S. in Systems Engineering with a concentration in Finance from the University of Virginia in 1988, and her law degree from George Mason University School of Law in 1995. Ms. Mock is admitted to the Virginia State Bar (1995).

Office Managers

Phoenix Ayotte, J.D.

Arlington Office
(703) 982-7380

phoenix@universaltitle.com

Joe Bruno, J.D.

DC/Bethesda Office
(707) 344-0546

jbruno@universaltitle.com

 

Shanna Glatz, J.D.

Fairfax Office
(703) 468-1391

sglatz@universaltitle.com

Pamela Godfrey

Stafford Office
(703) 468-1201

pgodfrey@universaltitle.com

Katie Griffin, J.D.

DC/Bethesda Office
(202) 301-3942

kgriffin@universaltitle.com

Adam Herschthal, J.D.

Annapolis Office
(301) 358-1712

adam@universaltitle.com

Lorn Hinish, J.D.

Rockville Office
(301) 358-1710

lhinish@universaltitle.com

Amin Khakpouri, J.D.

Howard County Office
(443) 219-0445

amin@universaltitle.com

 Gia Lericos, J.D.

Howard County Office
(443) 219-0439

gia@universaltitle.com

John Mclaurin, J.D.

Fredericksburg Office
(540) 228-1430

jmclaurin@universaltitle.com

Patrick Meighan, J.D.

Towson Office
(443) 327-3765

pmeighan@universaltitle.com

Lesley Morrissey, J.D.

Baltimore Office
(443) 219-0651

lmorrissey@universaltitle.com

Stephanie Norfolk, J.D.

Title Supervisor
(443) 219-0486

snorfolk@universaltitle.com

Bhavin Patel, J.D.

Falls Church Office
(703) 468-1583

bpatel@universaltitle.com

Gemar Patterson, J.D.

Upper Marlboro Office
(240) 345-9393

gpatterson@universaltitle.com

David Robertson, J.D.

Falls Church Office
(703) 665-0477

drobertson@universaltitle.com

Kelly Satterwhite, J.D.

Old Town Office
(703) 468-1571

ksatterwhite@universaltitle.com

Jason M. Setty, J.D.

White Marsh Office
(410) 401-0343

jsetty@universaltitle.com

Sarah Tozer, J.D.

McLean Office
(703) 468-0370

stozer@universaltitle.com

Oriana Victor

Tyson’s Corner Office
(703) 659-1293

ovictor@universaltitle.com

Business Development

Beth Aiken

Director of Business Development & Sales, Old Town
(571) 217-0417

baiken@universaltitle.com

Claire Banta

Director of Business Development & Sales, DC
(703) 408-2312

cbanta@universaltitle.com

Courtney Byrnes

Director of Business Development & Sales, Baltimore
(443) 417-8578

courtney@universaltitle.com

Shannon Catlett

Director of Business Development & Sales, Kingstowne
(703) 278-2289 

shannon@universaltitle.com

Heidi Copeland

Director of Business Development & Sales, Fairfax
(703) 915-7344

hcopeland@universaltitle.com

Aaron Gawronsky

Director of Business Development & Settlement Agent, D.C.
(202) 843-9255

agawronsky@universaltitle.com

Ken Grogan

Director of Business Development & Sales, Stafford
(540) 455-2283

kgrogan@universaltitle.com

Laurie Hull

Director of Business Development & Sales, Arlington
(252) 340-1690

lhull@universaltitle.com

Erika M. Madden

Director of Business Development & Sales, Howard County
(301) 801-4762

emadden@universaltitle.com

Annie Tek

Director of Business Development & Sales, Falls Church
(571) 242-7270

atek@universaltitle.com

Tim Swinburn

Director of Business Development & Sales, Towson
(610) 209-8336

tswinburn@universaltitle.com

Joey Vandaniker

Director of Business Development & Sales, Annapolis and Southern MD
(443) 452-9797

jvandaniker@universaltitle.com

Contact Us

Please feel free to send us any questions you may have.

info@universaltitle.com
6862 Elm Street, Suite 740
McLean, Virginia 22101 93282

(877) 645-8319